Golf has been played over this piece of links land prior to 1850 but it was not until 26 November 1898 that the links was officially opened by Luffness Golf Club which was re-named Kilspindie Golf Club in 1899. T
he links were designed by Park and Sayers with minor modifications over the years. What is interesting, for example is that the first hole, par 3, is due north whilst the 2nd hole is the only par 5 and, when played into the prevailing wind from the south west, can play more like a par 6 or7!
How many courses can boast of a “magazine” and a “target” on their course and these small buildings were exactly that up to the end of the First World War when the local territorial army unit used the course in conjunction with the golf club.